The North Sea Transition Forum

The North Sea Transition Forum (NSTF) is hosted and chaired by the North Sea Transition Authority (NSTA) and is the tripartite body which provides senior government and industry leadership for the offshore oil and gas industry.  It is attended by ministers and officials from both the UK and Scottish governments, trade unions, regulators and senior representatives from the upstream oil and gas industry.  

The NTSF supports the industry on a broad range of issues including the vitally important energy transition to a low carbon economy and the role the oil and gas sector has to play to achieve net zero.

The NSTF sits at the top of a ‘structure’ which includes a steering group and 7 industry task forces.  The NSTF oversees and directs the work of the task forces.

The objectives of the NSTF are:

  • Provide Strategic direction, oversight and support of the offshore oil and gas industry.

  • Drive alignment, accountability, action and delivery on key priorities including net zero.

The NSTF, supported by its steering group, will set the strategic direction for the sector and will also be accountable for the delivery of the North Sea Transition Deal, including the review and approval of the work programme.  The Forum will be responsible for reporting to the government on delivery of the Deal at regular intervals.

Meeting notes for the North Sea Transition Forum

North Sea Transition Steering Group

The North Sea Transition Steering Group have oversight of the Task Forces, ensuring there is no duplication or gaps in the work being undertaken by the task forces and that task force activities support the NSTA Strategy.

Task Forces

Each task force is led by an industry representative with support from the NSTA and Offshore Energies UK and representatives from across industry.  The task forces are important vehicles for driving innovation and improvements.

The seven Task Forces are:

  • Asset Stewardship Task Force
  • CO2 Transportation and Storage Task Force
  • Decommissioning and Repurposing Taskforce
  • Subsurface Task Force
  • Supply Chain and Exports Task Force
  • Technology Leadership Board
  • Wells Task Force