As the first MER UK Forum in 2018 gets underway in Aberdeen today, the Oil and Gas Authority (OGA) is pleased to announce Task Force chairperson appointments, who will continue to drive change to build a globally competitive UK oil and gas industry:

A photograph of Bill Dunnett, newly appointed chairman of the Technology Leadership BoardA photograph of Nick Terrell, newly appointed chairman of the Exploration Task ForceA photograph of Jon Graham, newly appointed chairman the Asset Stewardship Task Force

Bill Dunnett, managing director of Repsol Sinopec, takes up the position as chairman of the Technology Leadership Board, taking over from Paul White, managing director of Baker Hughes GE.

Nick Terrell, manging director of Azinor Catalyst, becomes the new chairman of the Exploration Task Force, succeeding Phil Kirk, CEO at Chrysoar.

Jon Graham, managing director and vice president of Apache North Sea, will chair the Asset Stewardship Task Force, superseding Ray Riddoch, managing director of Nexen.

The MER UK Forum brings together government, industry and the OGA with the objective of maximising the economic recovery of the UK’s resources (MER UK). The Forum is pleased to welcome the newly-appointed Energy and Clean Growth Minister, Claire Perry to the first meeting of 2018.

As part of the Forum, the new chairpersons sit on the MER UK Steering Group which oversees six task forces which work on the following priority areas - technology, exploration, asset stewardship, decommissioning, efficiency and supply chain and exports.

Mr Dunnett commented on his appointment: “I am delighted to chair the Technology Leadership Board and look forward to working closely with the MER UK Steering Group to create a differentiator for the North Sea industry and to address some long-standing technological opportunities.”

Mr Graham said: “I welcome the opportunity to contribute to the work of the Asset Stewardship Task Force which has made a positive difference in supporting the Steering Group in the journey towards achieving MER in the UKCS”.

Mr Terrell added: “As the industry starts to recover from the recent downturn, the continued revitalisation of UK exploration is fundamental to the longevity of our world class basin. I look forward to working with the MER UK Steering Group and all Task Force members to help drive UK exploration activity forward and attract the globally mobile capital that it deserves.”

Chief Executive of the Oil and Gas Authority, Andy Samuel, and co-chair of the MER UK Forum and MER UK Steering Group, welcomed the new members to the first steering group meeting of 2018, held on January 25, 2018:

“The industry has accomplished many positive changes through the recent difficult times and we have been very fortunate to have the support of talented and experienced leaders in achieving this progress. I would like to take this opportunity to thank those leaving the Task Forces for all their hard work, commitment and service to the industry.

“This year, we are looking forward to drawing on the experience and perspective of our new members as we aim to further strengthen this vital sector and deliver on Vision 2035.”

Dr Samuel added: “We are very much looking forward to welcoming the RT Honourable Claire Perry MP, Minister for Energy and Clean Growth to her first MER UK Forum meeting, held today in Aberdeen.”


For more information, please contact Tracey Miller, communications manager at the OGA:

Tel: 0300 020 1072 ¦ Email:

Notes to editors:

  • The MER UK Forum brings together government, industry and the OGA, and provides strategic direction, oversight and support, helping to create alignment, accountability and collective action on key priorities. Government ministers, industry leaders and representatives of the OGA attend the meetings which take place twice a year.
  • The MER UK Steering Group consists of 13 members from the Oil and Gas Authority (OGA), industry and Oil and Gas UK.