Carbon Capture and Storage

Carbon Capture and Storage (CCS) can play a key role in the UK economy achieving net zero – in fact, it could lead to the UK offshore oil and gas sector becoming carbon negative.

What is CCS?

CCS refers to a variety of processes which capture and store carbon dioxide emissions, generally from industrial processes. The carbon dioxide can then be transported, including via repurposed gas pipelines, and stored, for example within rock formations in the UKCS, including depleted oil and gas reservoirs.





Licensing and permitting authority for offshore carbon dioxide storage - NSTA issued first licence Dec18. A further two licences have also been issued

Maintain the carbon storage licence public register

Consider reuse as part of the NSTA Cessation or Production process

Consultee to OPRED, on operators' decommissioning plans

Exploring the role of C02 Enhanced Oil Recovery (EOR)

Working with government and industry

Supporting government and others to identify existing infrastructure with reuse potential for carbon capture and storage or hydrogen projects

Engaging with CCS project developers

Guiding and stewarding Project Developers and applicants through NSTA processes


What CCS projects are there?

The NSTA has awarded five carbon dioxide (CO2) appraisal and storage licences since becoming an independent regulator:



Two separate licences have been issued to:

The NSTA has also consented to a licence transfer (licence CS001) for a carbon dioxide (CO2) appraisal and storage licence:


Further detail about the licensing regime and the carbon storage public register can be viewed here.


Carbon Dioxide Appraisal and Storage Licensing Round 

The window for the NSTA to receive nominations for carbon dioxide appraisal and storage licence areas closed on Friday 13th May 2022. Following consideration of nominations received, on 14th June 2022 the NSTA launched a carbon storage licensing round, inviting applications for a number of areas across the UKCS including the Northern North Sea, Central North Sea, East Irish Sea and Southern North Sea. 

Applications within the areas offered can be submitted to the NSTA until 13:00 BST on 13th September 2022. Full information on how to apply can be found here.